Exeter Health Library

Home » Resources » Databases

Databases

evidenceDatabases contain bibliographic records (or references). Links through to full-text will be available where we have a subscription. If you can’t access the articles you require, you can always Request a journal article.

You have access to a wide range of databases to support your clinical work, research and education:

NHS Healthcare databases (HDAS) – (NHS OpenAthens login required)
Search across a set of databases including:
AMED – Allied & Complimentary Medicine – allied health professionals, complementary medicine
BNI – British Nursing Index –  nursing, midwifery and health visitors
CINAHL – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature –  nursing & allied health professionals
EMBASE – Drugs and pharmacology
Healthcare Business Elite – Healthcare administration, institutional management
HMIC – Healthcare Management Consortium
Medline – general medicine database
PsycINFO – Psychology & allied fields.

If you need help searching HDAS, try starting with these handy YouTube videos:

NICE provide various guides and videos on how to search HDAS, but if you’d like some 1:1 help, please contact our Information Skills trainer.

PsycArticles – (NHS OpenAthens login required)
Search full-text articles from leading psychology journals.

ProQuest Hospital Premium Collection – (NHS OpenAthens login required)
Offers an extensive range of health and social care publications and evidence-based resources.

PubMed – (no login required)
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

EBSCOhost databases – (NHS OpenAthens login required)
Access resource directly such as CINAHL Full Text, GreenFILE, Health Business FullText Elite.

 


1 Comment

  1. […] forget – many resources such as e-books, databases, journals & evidence-based resources are all available online with an NHS OpenAthens […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: